Nurse (Level Two)

All Nurse (Level Two) is a CARE PROFESSIONAL.

All Level Two Nurses, previously known as Enrolled Nurses, must be registered on the Nursing and Midwifery Council Register. They are then entitled to call themselves a Registered Nurse and must be able to adjust their practice in response to changing circumstances and changing PATIENT/ client needs.

This reflects a standard of proficiency considered necessary for safe and effective practice under Level 2 Nurses Sub-part 2 of the Nursing and Midwifery Council Register. A second level registered nurse is one whose name is entered on Sub-part 2 of the nurses part of the Nursing and Midwifery Council Register. The Nursing and Midwifery Council no longer approves programmes for entry to the second level of the nurses’ part of the register and training for nursing at this level ceased in the United Kingdom in 1992. This level remains open only for those nurses in the United Kingdom are already qualified and working at that level, and also for European Nurses who may access it through their right to freedom of movement.'

Registration as Level Two Nurse will be in one of the following fields of practice:

  1. Adult Nursing, also known as General Nursing  
  2. Mental Health Nursing
  3. Learning Disabilities Nursing
  4. Fever Nursing

This supporting information is also known by these names:
alsoknownasEnrolled Nurse
fullnameLevel Two Nurse